MEDIA ADVISORY Connecticut Academy of Science & Engineering to Host 34th Annual Meeting and Dinner

Evening To Feature Keynote Address by Dr. Gary Yohe; Student Award Presentations

What: 34th Annual Meeting and Student Awards Presentations  Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering

When: Wednesday, May 20, 2009, 6 pm to 9:30 pm

Where: New England Air Museum, Windsor Locks, CT

Who: Dr. Gary Yohe, Keynote Speaker
Woodhouse/Sysco Professor of Economics, Wesleyan University

Why: To highlight advances in science and technology in Connecticut and to honor the state’s most talented young scientists and engineers. Winners of this year’s Connecticut Science Fair, Connecticut Science Challenge, Connecticut Junior Science and Humanities Symposium, and Connecticut Invention Convention will be recognized during the evening ceremonies. The H. Joseph Gerber Medal of Excellence, established by the Academy and presented in partnership the Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology, will be awarded to the two first place winners of the Connecticut Science Fair and the first place winner of the Connecticut Science

Twenty-three newly elected members of the Academy also will be introduced.

The 2009 Connecticut Medal of Science will be presented by Frank Ridley, Chairman of the Board of Governors for Higher Education.



The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see