Connecticut Students Named H. Joseph Gerber Award Winners

Rocky Hill, CT — Outstanding young Connecticut scientists will be awarded the H. Joseph Gerber awards at the 44th Annual Meeting and Dinner of the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE) on May 28, 2019 at the Red Lion Hotel ― Cromwell.

The award, created by the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering, is in recognition of H. Joseph Gerber’s (1924-1996) technical leadership in inventing, developing and commercializing manufacturing automation systems for a wide variety of industries, making those industries more efficient and cost-effective in a worldwide competitive environment.

“The Academy is pleased to continue to recognize annually H. Joseph Gerber and his many contributions to the state by awarding the H. Joseph Gerber Medal of Excellence and Gerber Award of Excellence to Connecticut’s top high school student scientists and engineers for their outstanding achievements,” said CASE President Baki Cetegen.

Mr. Gerber – Founder, Chief Executive Officer, Chairman of the Board and President for South Windsor-based Gerber Scientific, Inc. – was a leader for nearly half a century in inventing and producing factory automation equipment designed to solve global manufacturing problems. An elected member of the National Academy of Engineering and the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering, Mr. Gerber received the National Medal of Technology in 1994 followed by the Connecticut Medal of Technology in 1995.

The recipients of this year’s H. Joseph Gerber awards are top winners of the 2019 Connecticut Science & Engineering Fair. Recipients of the H. Joseph Gerber Medal of Excellence were: Raina Jain, Greenwich High School (1st Place, Life Sciences – Senior Division) and Cynthia Chen, Greenwich High School (1st Place, Physical Sciences – Senior Division). Additionally, recipients of a H. Joseph Gerber Award of Excellence were the team of Srikar Godilla and Cristian Rodriguez from the Academy of Aerospace and Engineering (1 st Place, Urban School Challenge – High School Division).

Jain’s winning project was entitled, “Control of Varroa Destructor Infestation with a Dual-function, Thymol-Emitting Honey Bee Hive Entranceway” and Chen’s project was entitled, “A Green Nanotechnological Approach for Energy Efficiency and Conservation: Tungsten-doped Vanadium Dioxide Thermochromic Smart Windows.” Godilla and Rodriguez won for their project, “Development of In-situ Fabrication Methods of Martian Construction Material.”


The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being.