Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects 35 New Members in 2024

Rocky Hill, CT —The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE) announces the election of 35 of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and medicine to membership in the Academy. The new members will be introduced at the Academy’s 49th Annual Meeting and Dinner to be held  at the Woodwinds in Branford, Connecticut on May 21, 2024.

The 35 newly elected members are:

  • Ali M. Bazzi, Charles H. Knapp Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering, UConn College of Engineering
  • Hilary P. Blumberg, John and Hope Furth Professor of Psychiatric Neuroscience and Professor of Psychiatry, and in the Child Study Center and of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging; Director, Mood Disorders Research Program, Yale School of Medicine
  • Indrajeet Chaubey, Dean, UConn College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources
  • Bodhisattwa Chaudhuri, Professor, UConn School of Pharmacy
  • Yupeng Chen, Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering, UConn College of Engineering
  • Jeffrey M. Cohen, Director, Strategic Technologies and Partnerships, RTX Technologies Research Center
  • Kelly P. Cosgrove, Professor of Psychiatry and of Neuroscience and of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging, Yale School of Public Health
  • Caroline N. Dealy, Associate Professor, Orthodontics, UConn School of Dental Medicine
  • Lindsay J. DiStefano, Associate Vice President for Research Development, UConn
  • Avinash Dongare, Professor, Materials Science and Engineering, UConn College of Engineering
  • Azita Emami, Dean and Linda Loch Lorimer Professor of Nursing, Yale School of Nursing
  • John D. Fortner, Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering, Yale School of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Andrew L. Goodman, C.N.H. Long Professor of Microbial Pathogenesis and Director of Microbial Sciences Institute; Chair, Microbial Pathogenesis, Yale School of Medicine
  • Stephanie Halene, Arthur H. and Isabel Bunker Professor of Medicine (Hematology) and Professor of Pathology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Scott F. Kaslusky, Executive Director of Engineering, Collins Aerospace
  • Theodore W. Kim, Associate Professor, Computer Science, Yale School of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Liisa T. Kuhn, Professor and Associate Department Head, Biomedical Engineering, UConn Health
  • Mark A. Lemmon, Alfred Gilman Professor and Chair of Pharmacology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Yi Li, Professor, Department of Plant Science and Landscape Architecture, UConn
  • Sarah E. Maurer, Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry, and Associate to the Dean, Central Connecticut State University
  • Lucila Ohno-Machado, Waldemar von Zedtwitz Professor of Medicine and Biomedical Informatics and Data Science; Deputy Dean for Biomedical Informatics; Chair, Section of Biomedical Informatics and Data Science, Yale School of Medicine
  • Rebecca Page, Professor, Department of Cell Biology, UConn Health
  • Wolfgang Peti, Professor, Molecular Biology and Biophysics, UConn Health
  • David Pierce, Professor, Mechanical, Aerospace and Manufacturing Engineering, UConn College of Engineering
  • Christopher Pittenger, Elizabeth Mears and House Jameson Professor of Psychiatry; Deputy Chair for Translational Research, Director, Clinical Neuroscience Research Unit, Director, Yale Program for Psychedelic Science, Co-Director, Yale Center for Mind, Brain, and Behavior, Yale School of Medicine
  • Ravi Rajamani, President, Independent Data Consortium for Aviation
  • Megan L. Ranney, Dean and C.-E. A. Winslow Professor of Public Health (Health Policy) and Professor of Emergency Medicine, Yale School of Public Health
  • Karin M. Reinisch, David W. Wallace Professor of Cell Biology and Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale School of Medicine
  • Valerie Reinke, Professor of Genetics, Yale School of Medicine
  • Wayde R. Schmidt, Vice President of Applied Research, Ambri, Inc.
  • Kevin N. Sheth, Professor of Neurology & Neurosurgery; Executive Director of the NNCTU and Vice Chair for Clinical and Translational Research, Departments of Neurology and Neurosurgery; Director, Yale Center for Brain and Mind Health; Division Chief, Neurocritical Care and Emergency Neurology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Amit Surana, Principal Technical Fellow, RTX Technologies Research Center
  • Eric P. Winer, Alfred Gilman Professor of Pharmacology and Professor of Medicine (Medical Oncology); Director, Yale Cancer Center, Yale School of Medicine
  • Xiaoyong Yang, Professor, Comparative Medicine, Yale School of Medicine
  • Harrison H. Zhou, Henry Ford II Professor of Statistics and Data Science, Yale University


Election to CASE is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence. CASE was chartered by the Connecticut General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well-being.