Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects 24 New Members in 2017

Rocky Hill, CT —The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering announces the election of 24 of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, engineering and technology to membership in the Academy. The newly elected members will be introduced at the Academy’s 42ndAnnual Meeting and Dinner on May 22, 2017 at the University of Connecticut’s Rome Ballroom.

The 24 newly elected members are:

  • Kenneth B. Bowes, Vice President of Engineering, Eversource Energy
  • Claudio Bruno, Research Professor, Mechanical Engineering, University of Connecticut
  • David B. Carter, Senior Vice President, Engineering, Pratt &Whitney
  • Frederick M. Cohan, Professor of Biology and Environmental Studies, Biology Department, Wesleyan University
  • Robert M. Darling, Principal Research Scientist, United Technologies Research Center
  • Alan M. Finn, Research Fellow, Systems Department, United Technologies Research Center
  • Alison P. Galvani, Burnett and Stender Families Professor of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases) and Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Director of the Center for Infectious Disease Modeling and Analysis (CIDMA), Yale School of Public Health
  • Puxian Gao, Professor, Materials Science and Engineering, University of Connecticut
  • Jonathon Howard, Eugene Higgins Professor, Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, Yale University
  • Mark R. Jaworowski, Fellow, Physical Sciences Department, United Technologies Research Center
  • Ann E. Kurth, Dean & Linda Koch Lorimer Professor, Yale School of Nursing
  • Andre Levchenko, John C. Malone Professor & Director, Yale Systems Biology Institute, Yale University
  • Baikun Li, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Connecticut
  • Alexander J. Majewski, Fellow, UTC Aerospace Systems
  • Michael J. Maloney, Manager, Structural Alloys, Hot Section Materials and Coatings, Pratt & Whitney
  • Jordan Peccia, Professor, Chemical and Environmental Engineering, Yale University
  • Peter A. Raymond, Professor of Ecosystem Ecology, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies
  • Philip E. Rubin, Senior Advisor to the President and Chief Executive Officer Emeritus, Yale University
  • Alexander C. Russell, Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Computer Science and Engineering Department, University of Connecticut
  • Zhong Shao, Professor, Computer Science, Yale University
  • Frederick J. Sigworth, Professor, Cellular and Molecular Physiology with joint appointments in Biomedical Engineering and Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University
  • David C. Steffens, Professor & Chair, Psychiatry, University of Connecticut School of Medicine
  • Hugh S. Taylor, Anita O’Keeffe Young Professor of Women’s Health & Chair, Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences, Yale School of Medicine & Yale-New Haven Hospital
  • Sandra L. Wolin, Professor of Cell Biology and Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry; Director, Yale Center for RNA Science and Medicine, Yale School of Medicine

Election to the Academy is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence.

2017 New Member Summary


The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see