Connecticut Academy of Science & Engineering 44th Annual Meeting and Dinner, May 28, 2019

What:    44th Annual Meeting of the Connecticut Academy of Science & Engineering
Where: Red Lion Hotel Cromwell
When:   Tuesday, May 28, 2019, 6:00 to 9:30 p.m.

Student Award Presentations: Students will display their projects during the 6:00-7:00 p.m. reception and will receive awards during dinner (includes winners of this year’s Connecticut Science & Engineering Fair, Connecticut Junior Science and Humanities Symposium, and Connecticut Invention Convention). Read more.

Gerber Medals/Award: The H. Joseph Gerber Medal of Excellence and Award of Excellence, established by the Academy, will be awarded to the top student winners of the Connecticut Science and Engineering Fair. Read more.

New Academy Members: Newly elected members of the Academy will be introduced. Read more. Connecticut Medal of Science: The Honorable Josh Geballe, Commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Administrative Services, will present the 2019 Connecticut Medal of Science to Pasko Rakic, Dorys McConnell Duberg Professor of Neuroscience and Professor of Neurology, Yale School of Medicine. Professor Rakic is recognized for his contributions as a transformative neuroscientist credited with establishing fundamental molecular and cellular mechanisms for the development of the cerebral cortex, the most complex structure in the universe. Read more.

Keynote Speech: Meg Urry, PhD, Israel Munson Prof. of Physics and Astronomy, Yale University. Read more.

Featured Student Awards Ceremony Speaker: Bridget Oei, past CASE winner of a Connecticut Invention Convention Award, 2018 Miss Connecticut, and 2019 Miss America Runner-up.


The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well-being.