Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects Twenty-three New Members in 2009

Hartford, CT — The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering announces the election of twenty-three of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, engineering and technology to membership in the Academy. The newly elected members will be introduced at the Academy’s 34th Annual Meeting and Dinner on May 20, 2009, at the New England Air Museum in Windsor Locks.

The twenty-three newly elected members are:

  • Mark Aindow, PhD, Professor and Materials Science and Engineering Program Director, University of Connecticut
  • Amvrossios Bagtzoglou, PhD, Head of the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering; Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, University of Connecticut
  • Vladimir Blasko, PhD, Fellow, Power Electronics Group/United Technologies Research Center
  • Mun Choi, PhD, Dean of Engineering, University of Connecticut
  • Michael Donoghue, PhD, Vice President for West Campus Planning and Program Development; G. Evelyn Hutchinson Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; and Curator of Botany, Peabody Museum, Yale University
  • Monty Escabí, PhD, Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering; University of Connecticut
  • J. Peter Gogarten, PhD, Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of Connecticut
  • Peter Jones, PhD, James E. English Professor of Mathematics & Applied Mathematics, Yale University
  • Diane Jorkasky, MD, Consultant (formerly of Pfizer, Inc.)
  • John Krystal, MD, Robert L. McNeil, Jr., Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, Deputy Chairman for Research; Department of Psychiatry, Yale University School of Medicine
  • Cato Laurencin, MD, PhD, Vice President for Health Affairs and Dean of the College of Medicine; Van Dusen Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery; and Professor of Chemical, Materials, and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Connecticut Health Center
  • Bruce Liang, MD, Ray Neag Distinguished Professor of Cardiovascular Biology and Medicine, Director of Center for Cardiology and Cardiovascular Biology, University of Connecticut Health Center
  • Lynne Regan, PhD, Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry and Chemistry, Biophysical Chemistry, Organic Chemistry; Director, Sackler Institute for Biological, Physical & Engineering Sciences, Yale University
  • Peter Salovey, PhD, Provost, Chris Argyris Professor of Psychology; Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health, Yale University
  • William Sessa, PhD, Professor and Vice Chairman, Department of Pharmacology; Director, Vascular Biology & Therapeutics Program, Yale School of Medicine
  • Robert Sherwin, MD, C.N.H. Long Professor of Medicine, Yale University School of Medicine
  • Abraham Silberschatz, PhD, Sidney J. Weinberg Professor and Chair of Computer Science, Yale University;
  • Michelle Steen, PhD, Rotational Assignee/Program Manager, Executive Initiatives, IBM Corporate Technology Evaluation and Intellectual Property
  • Joann Sweasy, PhD, Professor of Therapeutic Radiology and Genetics, Yale University School of Medicine
  • William Tamborlane, MD, Professor and Chief of Pediatric Endocrinology, Yale University School of Medicine
  • T. Kyle Vanderlick, PhD, Dean of Engineering and Thomas E. Golden, Jr. Professor of Engineering, Yale University
  • Pieter Visscher, PhD, Professor of Marine Sciences, Director, Center for Integrative Geosciences, University of Connecticut
  • Robert Whitlatch, PhD, Professor, Marine Sciences, University of Connecticut/Department Marine Sciences

Election to the Academy is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence. By statute, the Academy’s membership is limited to 250 individuals.


The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see