Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects Twenty-Seven New Members in 2004

Hartford, CT — The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering announces the election of twentyseven of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, engineering and technology to membership in the Academy. The newly elected members will be introduced at the Academy’s 29th Annual Meeting and Dinner on May 25, 2004, at the Rocky Hill Marriott.

The twenty-seven newly elected members are:

Linda M. Bartoshuk, PhD, Yale University School of Medicine
Richard K. Chang, PhD, Yale University
Douglas J. Cooper, PhD, University of Connecticut
John T. DeWolf, PhD, University of Connecticut
Joseph J. Helble, PhD, University of Connecticut
Arthur L. Horwich, MD, Yale University School of Medicine
Bahram Javidi, PhD, University of Connecticut
Edward H. Kaplan, PhD, Yale University
Alan D. Kersey, PhD, CyVera Corporation
Edwin D. Kilbourne, MD, New York Medical College (ret.)
Barbara E. Kream, PhD, University of Connecticut Health Center
Roman B. Kuc, PhD, Yale University
Brian P. Leaderer, PhD, Yale University School of Medicine
Pinfang Lin, PhD, Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceutical Research Institute
Benoit B. Mandelbrot, PhD, Yale University
Gregory A. Margulis, PhD, Yale University
Kathleen F. Maurer, MD, Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation
Ruth McCorkle, MD, PhD, Yale University
I. George Miller, Jr., MD, Yale University School of Medicine
Eric R. Mueller, PhD, Coherent-DEOS, LLC
Joseph L. Palladino, PhD, Trinity College
Fotios Papadimitrakopoulos, PhD, University of Connecticut
Richard D. Pinder, PhD, State of Connecticut, Department of Public Safety (ret.)
Thomas D. Pollard, MD, Yale University
David E. Reisner, PhD, Inframat Corporation & U.S. Nanocorp, Inc.
Gualberto Ruano, MD, PhD, Genomas, LLC
T.N. Srinivasan, PhD, Yale University

Election to the Academy is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence. By statute, the Academy’s membership is limited to 200 individuals.

The following officers of the Academy were also elected and will serve two-year terms from 2004-2006:

President: Michael J. Werle, TEaMS, Inc.
Vice- President/President-Elect: Alan C. Eckbreth, UTC (ret.)
Treasurer: Peter G. Cable, BBN Systems and Technologies
Secretary: Gale F. Hoffnagle, TRC Companies, Inc.
Past President: John P. Cagnetta, Northeast Utilities (ret.)


The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see