Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects Twenty-Five New Members in 2006

Hartford, CT — The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering announces the election of twenty-five of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, engineering and technology to membership in the Academy. The newly elected members will be introduced at the Academy’s 31st Annual Meeting and Dinner on May 24, 2006, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Cromwell, Connecticut.

The twenty-five newly elected members are: Reda A. Ammar, PhD, Professor and Head, Department of Computer Science & Engineering, University of Connecticut; Kelly D. Brownell, PhD, Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health, Yale University School of Medicine & Chair, Department of Psychology and Director, Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity, Yale University; Andrey V. Dobrynin, PhD, Associate Professor, Institute of Materials Science, University of Connecticut; Eric Donkor, PhD, Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Connecticut; Rao V. Dukkipati, PhD, Professor and Chair of Mechanical Engineering, Fairfield University; Gerald V. Dunne, PhD, Professor of Physics, University of Connecticut; Phillip J. Gardner, PhD, Director CO2 Laser Commercial Engineering, Coherent, Inc.; Phillip L. Gould, PhD, Professor of Physics, University of Connecticut; Margaret Grey, DrPH, Annie Goodrich Professor of Nursing & Dean, Yale University School of Nursing; Juha Javanainen, PhD, Professor of Physics, University of Connecticut; Louis Manzione, PhD, Dean, College of Engineering, Technology & Architecture, University of Hartford; Regis Matzie, PhD, Senior Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, Westinghouse Electric Company; Edmund J. Murphy, PhD, Chief Technology Officer, Components & Modules Product Group, JDS Uniphase; Krishna R. Pattipati, PhD, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Connecticut; Ranga Pitchumani, PhD, Distinguished Professor of Engineering & Head, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Connecticut; Ronald P. Radlinski, PhD, Consultant, BBN Technologies; Scott A. Rivkees, MD, Professor of Pediatrics & Director, Yale Child Health Research Center, Yale University School of Medicine; Leon L. Shaw, PhD, Professor, Materials Science and Engineering, University of Connecticut; Gerald I. Shulman, MD & PhD, Professor of Medicine and Cellular & Molecular Physiology, Yale University School of Medicine; Winthrop W. Smith, PhD, Professor of Physics, University of Connecticut; Mitchell D. Smooke, PhD, Strathcona Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Yale University; Jane L. Snowdon, PhD, Senior Manager, Research Staff, T.J. Watson Research Center, IBM Corporation; A. Douglas Stone, PhD, Carl B. Morse Professor of Applied Physics and Physics, Yale University; Geoffrey W. Taylor, PhD, Professor of Electrical Engineering, University of Connecticut; Danny T. Xiao, PhD, Chief Technology Officer, Inframat Corporation

Election to the Academy is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence. By statute, the Academy’s membership is limited to 250 individuals.


The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see

Suggested News

News Release

Andrew Bramante and Bernard J. Zahren Elected to Honorary Membership in the Academy

November 29, 2022

News Release

47th CASE Annual Meeting

June 1, 2022