Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects Thirty-Three New Members in 2013

Rocky Hill, CT —The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering announces the election of thirty-three of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, engineering and technology to membership in the Academy. The newly elected members will be introduced at the Academy’s 38th Annual Meeting and Dinner on May 22, 2013, at Quinnipiac University in Hamden.

The thirty-three newly elected members are:

  • Eric Altman, Professor, Department of Chemical & Environmental Engineering, Yale University
  • Thomas J. Barber, Professor in Residence, Mechanical Engineering, University of Connecticut
  • David Beveridge, University Professor of Natural Science and Mathematics, Wesleyan University
  • Allan J. Brockett, Vice President, Engineering-Module Centers, Pratt & Whitney
  • Edgar M. Brown, Technical Manager Reactor Protection Systems, Nuclear Automation, Westinghouse Electric Company, LLC
  • John Carlson, Eugene Higgins Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, Yale University
  • Wilson K.S. Chiu, Professor, Mechanical Engineering, University of Connecticut
  • Robin Côté, Professor of Physics, University of Connecticut
  • Alan H. Epstein, Vice President, Technology and Environment, Pratt & Whitney
  • Joan Feigenbaum, Grace Murray Hopper Professor of Computer Science, Yale University
  • David U. Furrer, Senior Fellow Discipline Lead, Materials and Processes Engineering, Pratt & Whitney
  • Jorge Galán, Lucille P. Markey Professor of Microbiology and Chairman, Department of Microbial Pathogenesis, Yale School of Medicine
  • Evangelos Hadjimichael, Professor and Former Dean, School of Engineering, Fairfield University
  • Arianna Kalian, Vice President, Engineering and Operations, ClearEdge Power
  • Richard W. Korsmeyer, Senior Research Fellow and Head of External Technology & Collaborations, Pfizer, Inc.
  • George Lister, Jean McLean Wallace Professor of Pediatrics and of Cellular and Molecular Physiology, and Chair, Pediatrics, Yale
  • Edison T. Liu, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Jackson Laboratory, at UCHC, Farmington
  • J. Patrick Loria, Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Molecular Biology and Biophysics, Yale University
  • Joseph Mantese, Research Fellow, United Technologies Research Center
  • Tom A. Martin, President and Board Chairman, Phonon
  • David Mazurek, Professor, Civil Engineering, U.S. Coast Guard Academy
  • C. Thomas Philbrick, Connecticut State University Distinguished Professor, Western Connecticut State University
  • Marina Picciotto, Charles B. G. Murphy Professor of Psychiatry and Professor of Neurobiology and of Pharmacology; Assistant Chair for Basic Science Research, Yale School of Medicine
  • Leon Pintsov, Chief Scientist and Vice President, International Standards and Advanced Technology, Pitney Bowes, Inc.
  • Nalini Ravishanker, Professor, Statistics, University of Connecticut
  • Chittaranjan Sahay, Vernon D. Roosa Distinguished Professor of Manufacturing Engineering, University of Hartford
  • Bryce Samson, Vice President of Business Development, Nufern
  • Ripi Singh, Director, R&D, Renewable Power/Solar, Alstom Power
  • Hong Tang, Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering, Physics and Applied Physics, Yale University
  • Frank M. Torti, Executive Vice President for Health Affairs & Dean, School of Medicine, University of Connecticut Health Center
  • Suzy V. Torti, Professor, Molecular, Microbial and Structural Biology, University of Connecticut Health Center
  • J. Evan Ward, Professor, Marine Sciences, University of Connecticut
  • Mei Wei, Professor, Chemical, Materials, and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Connecticut

Election to the Academy is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence.


The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see