Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects Thirty-Nine New Members in 2012

Rocky Hill, CT —The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering announces the election of thirty-nine of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, engineering and technology to membership in the Academy. The newly elected members will be introduced at the Academy’s 37th Annual Meeting and Dinner on May 31, 2012, at the University of Connecticut’s Rome Ballroom in Storrs.

The thirty-nine newly elected members are:

  • Paul R. Adams, Senior Vice President of Engineering and Operations, Pratt and Whitney
  • S. Pamir Alpay, Professor, Chemical Materials and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Connecticut
  • Susan J. Baserga, Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Professor of Genetics, and Professor of Therapeutic Radiology, Yale University School of Medicine
  • Linda K. Bockenstedt, Harold W. Jockers Professor of Medicine/Rheumatology and Director, Professional Development & Equity, Yale School of Medicine
  • Sergei F. Burlatsky, Senior Research Fellow, United Technologies Research Center
  • Subhash Chandra, Program Manager, ABWR System and Safety Analysis, Westinghouse Electric Company
  • Robin L. Chazdon, Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Connecticut
  • Robert K. Colwell, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, University of Connecticut
  • Sharon W. Cui, Senior Research Scientist, Yale University
  • Thomas M. Danckwerth, Director, Engineering and Technology, Goodrich ISR Systems
  • Pietro De Camilli, Professor, Department of Cell Biology and Professor, Department of Neurobiology, Yale School of Medicine; Founding Director, Yale Program for Cellular Neuroscience, Neurodegeneration and Repair, Yale University
  • Ronald S. Duman, Mear/Jameson Professor of Psychiatry, Pharmacology, and Neurobiology, Yale School of Medicine; Director Abraham Ribicoff Research Facilities, Connecticut Mental Health Center
  • Andrew Finch, Technical Manager, JDSU
  • Bonnie T. Fleming, Horace D. Taft Associate Professor of Physics, Yale University
  • Peter J. Halvordson, Vice President – Engineering and Design, General Dynamics, Electric Boat
  • Jung Han, Professor and Department Chair, Electrical Engineering, Yale University
  • Jo Handelsman, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor, Yale University
  • Kevan C. Herold, Professor of Immunobiology and Internal Medicine (Endocrinology), Yale School of Medicine
  • Jeffrey C. Hoch, Professor, Department of Molecular, Microbial and Structural Biology, Director, Biophysical Core Facility and Director, Gregory P. Mullen NMR Structural Biology Facility, University of Connecticut Health Center
  • Amy R. Howell, Professor and Head, Department of Chemistry, University of Connecticut
  • Marja M. Hurley, Professor of Medicine and Orthopaedic Surgery, Special Assistant to the Dean, and Associate Dean, Health Career Programs, University of Connecticut School of Medicine
  • William L. Jorgenson, Sterling Professor of Chemistry and Director of the Division of Physical Sciences and Engineering, Yale University
  • Milan Keser, Manager, Millstone Environmental Laboratory, Northeast Utilities (ret.)
  • John P. Lareau, Chief Engineer, WesDyne International
  • Eric J. Lim, Manager, New Product Introduction, JDSU
  • Radenka Maric, Connecticut Clean Energy Fund Professor of Sustainable Energy, University of Connecticut
  • Kathleen McGroddy-Goetz, Vice President, Product Management and Application Middleware, IBM
  • Mina Mina, Professor of Craniofacial Sciences and Division Chief, Pediatric Dentistry, University of Connecticut Health Center
  • Nancy A. Moran, William H. Fleming Professor of Biology, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Yale University
  • W. Mark Saltzman, Goizueta Foundation Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Yale University
  • Martin Seifert, President, Nufern Inc.
  • Om P. Sharma, Senior Research Fellow, United Technologies Research Center
  • Prabhakar Singh, UTC Chair Professor of Fuel Cell Technology and Director, Center for Clean Energy Engineering, University of Connecticut
  • Paul R. Skolnik, Professor and Chairman of Medicine, University of Connecticut School of Medicine
  • Daniel A. Spielman, Professor of Applied Mathematics and Computer Science, Yale University
  • Scott A. Strobel, Professor and Vice President for West Campus Planning and Program Development, Yale University
  • Steven L. Suib, Professor of Chemistry and Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, University of Connecticut
  • Sonia E. Sultan, Chair/Professor of Biology, Wesleyan University
  • Vincent Wilczynski, Deputy Dean, Yale School of Engineering & Applied Science, Yale University

Election to the Academy is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence.


The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see