Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects 50 New Members in 2014

Rocky Hill, CT —The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering announces the election of 50 of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, engineering and technology to membership in the Academy. The newly elected members will be introduced at the Academy’s 39th Annual Meeting and Dinner on June 5, 2014, at the Crowne Plaza Cromwell Hotel in Cromwell.

The 50 newly elected members are:

  • Giridhari L. Agrawal, President, R&D Dynamics Corporation
  • Eric J. Amis, Director, Physical Sciences, United Technologies Research Center
  • Theodore G. Andreadis, Director, The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station; Adjunct Professor, Dept. of Pathobiology, UConn
  • Jacques Banchereau, Professor and Director of Immunological Sciences, The Jackson Laboratory
  • Ronald R. Breaker, Henry Ford II Professor and Chair, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology; Professor, Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
  • Hui Cao, Professor of Applied Physics and Physics, Yale University
  • Sonia Caprio, Professor of Pediatrics, Yale School of Medicine
  • Meredith B. Colket, Senior Fellow, United Technologies Research Center
  • Lynn Cooley, C. N. H. Long Professor of Genetics; Professor of Cell Biology and of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology; Yale School of Medicine
  • Jun-Hong Cui, Professor, Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering, UConn
  • Daniel C. DiMaio, Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Genetics; Vice Chair, Dept. of Genetics; Professor of Therapeutic Radiology and Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry; Scientific Director, Yale Cancer Center
  • James Duncan, Ebenezer K. Hunt Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Diagnostic Radiology & Electrical Engineering, Yale University
  • Thomas Filburn, Professor of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering, University of Hartford
  • Francis Galasso, Adjunct Professor/Research Scientist Emeritus, Dept. of Chemistry, UConn; UTRC (ret.)
  • Bernard Goffinet, Professor, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, UConn
  • Brenton R. Graveley, Professor, Genetics and Developmental Biology, UConn School of Medicine
  • Daniel L. Gysling, Technical Fellow, Aeromechanics, Pratt & Whitney
  • Theodore R. Holford, Susan Dwight Bliss Professor of Public Health, Biostatistics Dept., Yale School of Public Health
  • Jay D. Humphrey, John C. Malone Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Yale University
  • Lanbo Liu, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, UConn
  • Joseph A. Lorenzo, Professor of Medicine and Orthopedics; Director, Bone Biology Research, UConn Health Center
  • Lawrence E. Marks, Emeritus Director, The John B. Pierce Laboratory Emeritus; Professor of Epidemiology and of Psychology, Yale University
  • Robert P. Mason, Professor, Marine Sciences and Chemistry, UConn
  • David R. Mayhew, Sterling Professor of Political Science; Resident Faculty Fellow, Institution for Social & Policy Studies, Yale University
  • Augustus D. Mazzoca, Director, New England Musculoskeletal Institute; Professor and Chairman, Dept. of Orthopaedic Surgery, UConn Health Center
  • Louise D. McCullough, Professor of Neurology and Neuroscience; Director of Stroke Research, UConn Health Center
  • Nicholas A. Meanwell, Executive Director, Discovery Chemistry, Bristol-Myers Squibb Research and Development
  • Laura R. Ment, Professor of Pediatrics (Neurology) and of Neurology; Associate Dean for Admissions and Financial Aid, Yale School of Medicine
  • Ivana Milanovic, Professor, Mechanical Engineering, University of Hartford
  • Ishita Mukerji, Dean of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Wesleyan University
  • Laura E. Niklason, Professor of Anesthesiology & Biomedical Engineering, Yale University
  • Douglas L. Oliver, Professor of Neuroscience, UConn Health Center
  • Stephanie S. O’Malley, Professor of Psychiatry; Deputy Chair for Clinical Research, Yale School of Medicine
  • David Paltiel, Professor of Public Health and Management, Yale School of Public Health
  • Richard S. Parnas, Professor, Chemical Engineering, UConn
  • Timothy W. Patterson, Technology Fellow, ClearEdge Power
  • Joseph J. Pignatello, Chief Scientist, The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station; Professor Adjunct, Chemical Engineering and Environmental Engineering, Yale University
  • Thomas W. Prete, Vice President, Engineering, Pratt & Whitney
  • Ramamurthy Ramprasad, Professor, Chemical, Materials & Biomolecular Engineering, UConn
  • James E. Rothman, Fergus F. Wallace Professor of Biomedical Sciences; Professor and Chair, Dept. of Cell Biology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Robert J. Shiller, Sterling Professor of Economics, Yale University
  • Peter G. Smith, Vice President, Engineering, United Technologies Aerospace Systems
  • Gregory A. Sotzing, Professor, Dept. of Chemistry, UConn
  • Patrick Sung, Professor and Chairman, Dept. of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry; Professor, Dept. of Therapeutic Radiology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Jiong Tang, Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Mechanical Engineering, UConn
  • Jane R. Taylor, Charles B. G. Murphy Professor of Psychiatry and Professor of Psychology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Fred R. Volkmar, Chair, Child Study Center, Yale University; Chief of Child Psychiatry, Yale New Haven Children’s Hospital; Irving B. Harris Professor of Child Psychiatry; Professor of Psychiatry, Pediatrics, and of Psychology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Guiling Wang, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, UConn
  • Barrett, O. Wells, Professor and Associated Department Head, Physics, UConn
  • Kurt W. Zilm, Professor of Chemistry; Professor of Chemical Engineering, Yale University

Election to the Academy is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence.


The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see