Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects 36 New Members in 2020

Rocky Hill, CT —The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE) announces the election of 36 of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, engineering, medicine, and technology to membership in the Academy. The new members will be introduced at the Academy’s 45th Annual Meeting and Dinner on May 26, 2020, at The University of Connecticut (Storrs Campus).

The 36 newly elected members are:

  • Ron Adelman, Prof. of Ophthalmology & Visual Science; Director of the Retina & Macula Service, Yale School of Medicine
  • Nita Ahuja, William H. Carmalt Prof. of Surgery; Chair, Dpt. of Surgery; Surgeon-in-Chief; Assistant Cancer Center Director for Surgery, Yale Cancer Center, Yale School of Medicine
  • Jinbo Bi, Prof., Computer Science & Engineering, School of Engineering, UCONN
  • Georgios M. Bollas, Prof., Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, School of Engineering, UCONN
  • Nancy J. Brown, Dean, Yale School of Medicine
  • Daniel C. Burbank, Senior Technical Fellow Discipline Lead – Systems Engineering, Collins Aerospace
  • Daniel D. Burkey, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education, Outreach, and Diversity, School of Engineering, UCONN
  • Yang Cao, Prof. & Director, Electrical Insulation Research Center, Electrical & Computer Engineering & Institute of Materials Science, School of Engineering, UCONN
  • Igor Cherepinsky, Director, Autonomy Programs, Engineering & Technology, Rotary Mission Systems, Sikorsky Aircraft
  • Elizabeth Claus, Prof., Biostatistics; Director, Medical Research, Yale School of Public Health
  • Tanimu P. Deleon, Technical Lead: Human Factors Engineering & CONFORM: Warfighter Performance, Electric Boat Corporation
  • Heidi M. Dierssen, Prof. of Marine Sciences, UCONN
  • Gregory A. Duba, Staff Engineer – System Modeling, Simulation & Analysis, Electric Boat Corporation
  • Erika J. Edwards, Prof. of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Dpt. of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Yale University
  • David A. Ferrucci, Founder, CEO & Chief Scientist, Elemental Cognition; Director of Artificial Intelligence, Bridgewater Associates
  • Nilay Hazari, Prof. of Chemistry, Chemistry Dpt., Yale University
  • Thomas C. Katsouleas, President, UCONN
  • Yehia F. Khalil, Associate Director, Research, Physical Sciences Dpt., United Technologies Research Center
  • Albert I. Ko, Professor & Chair, Dpt. of Epidemiology of Microbial Diseases, Yale School of Public Health
  • Ramesh B. Malla, Prof., Dpt. of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Institute of Materials Science, UCONN
  • Ruth R. Montgomery, Professor of Medicine; Associate Dean for Scientific Affairs, Yale School of Medicine
  • Rachel J. O’Neill, Professor & Director, UCONN Institute for Systems Genomics, Institute of Systems Genomics, Molecular & Cellular Biology, Genetics and Genome Sciences, UCONN
  • José Manuel Otero, Senior Vice President, Technical Operations & Executive Team Member, Turnstone Biologics, Inc.
  • Ugur Pasaogullari, Prof. & Director, Cntr. for Clean Energy Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, School of Engineering, UCONN
  • Peter N. Peduzzi, Prof. of Biostatistics, Director Yale Center for Analytical Sciences, Yale School of Public Health
  • Rafael Perez-Escamilla, Prof. of Epidemiology & Public Health; Director, Office of Public Health Practice; Director, Global Health Concentration, Yale School of Public Health
  • David M. Post, Prof., Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Yale University
  • Andreas E. Roelofs, Vice President of Research, United Technologies Corporation; Director, United Technologies Research Center
  • Nenad Sestan, Harvey and Kate Cushing Professor of Neuroscience, & Professor of Comparative Medicine, of Genetics and of Psychiatry; Executive Director, Genome Editing Center, Yale School of Medicine
  • Linda H. Shapiro, Professor, Cell Biology, UCONN School of Medicine
  • John P. Shegirian, Staff Engineer, Integrated Power Systems, Electric Boat Corporation
  • Scot A. Slimon, Staff Engineer, Fluid Mechanics, Electric Boat Corporation
  • Megan V. Smith, Associate Professor of Psychiatry and in the Child Study Center; Director, Mental Health Outreach for Mothers Partnership; Director, Yale Child Study Center Parent & Family Development Program, Yale School of Medicine
  • Nagendra Somanath, Principle Engineer, Advanced Tech. & Preliminary Design, Advanced Concepts & Tech., Pratt & Whitney
  • Christian Tschudi, John Rodman Paul Professor of Epidemiology, Epidemiology of Microbial Diseases, Yale School of Public Health
  • Paul E. Turner, Rachel Carson Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Yale University



Election to CASE is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence. CASE was chartered by the Connecticut General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well-being. For more information about the Academy, please visit .