Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects 24 New Members in 2019

Rocky Hill, CT —The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE) announces the election of 24 of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, engineering and technology to membership in the Academy. The new members will be introduced at the Academy’s 44 th Annual Meeting and Dinner on May 28, 2019 at the Red Lion Hotel – Cromwell.

The 24 newly elected members are:

  • Serap Aksoy, Professor, Epidemiology of Microbial Diseases, Yale School of Public Health, Yale University
  • Michael H. Ambrose, Vice President, Engineering & Technology, Lockheed Martin, Rotary and Mission Systems, Sikorsky Aircraft
  • Michelle L. Bell, Mary E. Pinchot Prof. of Environmental Health, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, Yale University
  • David Bercovici, Frederick William Beinecke Professor of Geophysics & Chair, Dept. of Geology & Geophysics, Yale University
  • Gary W. Brudvig, Benjamin Silliman Professor of Chemistry, Yale University & Director, Yale Energy Sciences Institute
  • John A. Chandy, Department Head & Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, School of Engineering, UConn
  • Emily Germain-Lee, Professor and Chief, Division of Pediatric Endocrinology & Diabetes, UConn School of Medicine
  • Jaime Grutzendler, Dr. Harry M. Zimmerman and Dr. Nicholas and Viola Spinelli Professor of Neurology and Neuroscience, Yale School of Medicine
  • Bryan D. Huey, Professor and Department Head, Materials Science and Engineering, School of Engineering, UConn
  • Geoff Hunt, Senior Vice President of Engineering, Pratt & Whitney
  • Vivian F. Irish, Eaton Professor Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology, Yale University
  • David R. Langley, Senior Director of Platform Chemistry, Arvinas, Inc. & Max Tishler Professor of Chemistry, Wesleyan University
  • William K. Lauenroth, Professor in Practice, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, Yale University
  • Se-Jin Lee, Professor, The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine, and Presidential Distinguished Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences, UConn School of Medicine
  • Shuangge Ma, Professor of Biostatistics, Yale School of Public Health, Yale University
  • Rajiv Naik, Fellow, Materials Modeling Methods, Materials and Processes Engineering, Pratt & Whitney
  • Harvey A. Risch, Professor of Epidemiology, Department of Chronic Disease Epidemiology, Yale School of Public Health
  • Annabelle Rodriguez- Oquendo, Linda & David Roth Chair of Cardiovascular Research & Professor of Cell Biology, UConn Health
  • David G. Schatz, Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology & Professor of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry; Chair, Department of Immunobiology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Eugene D. Shapiro, Professor of Pediatrics and of Epidemiology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Luyi Sun, Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, UConn
  • Jeffrey P. Townsend, Elihu Professor of Biostatistics, Yale University
  • Günter P. Wagner, Alison Richard Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Yale University
  • Riqiang Yan, Professor and Chairman, Department of Neuroscience, UConn

Election to CASE is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in
recognition of scientific and engineering excellence. CASE was chartered by the Connecticut General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well-being.