Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects 23 New Members in 2015

Rocky Hill, CT —The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering announces the election of 23 of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, engineering and technology to membership in the Academy. The newly elected members will be introduced at the Academy’s 40th Annual Meeting and Dinner on May 19, 2015 at the Crowne Plaza Cromwell Hotel in Cromwell.

The 23 newly elected members are:

  • Andrzej Banaszuk, Sikorsky Program Leader, United Technologies Research Center
  • Thomas C. Berl, Manager of Operations, Quonset Point Facility, Electric Boat Corporation
  • Kathleen M. Carroll, Albert E. Kent Professor of Psychiatry, Yale School of Medicine
  • Ki H. Chon, Professor and Department Head, Biomedical Engineering, UConn
  • Craig M. Crews, Lewis Cullman Professor, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, Yale University
  • Ralph J. Dileone, Professor, Psychiatry and Neurobiology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Tahany I. El-Wardany, Fellow, Advanced Manufacturing, United Technologies Research Center
  • Peter M. Glazer, Chair and Robert E. Hunter Professor, Therapeutic Radiology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Alessandro Gomez, Professor of Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science, Yale University
  • Ronald S. Harichandran, Dean, Tagliatela College of Engineering, University of New Haven
  • John F. Kadow, Group Director, Discovery Chemistry/Virology, Pharmaceutical Research & Development, Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • Angus C. Nairn, Charles B. G. Murphy Professor of Psychiatry and Professor of Pharmacology, Yale School of Medicine
  • Linda S. Pescatello, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, Department of Kinesiology, UConn
  • James F. Rusling, Professor of Chemistry, UConn, and Professor of Cell Biology, UConn Health Center
  • Jayant S. Sabnis, Vice President of Engineering, Module Centers, Pratt & Whitney
  • Gerard Sanacora, Professor of Psychiatry and Director, Depression Research Program, Yale School of Medicine
  • Alanna Schepartz, Milton Harris ’29 PhD Professor of Chemistry, and Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, Yale University
  • Martín-J. Sepúlveda, IBM Fellow, Vice President of Health Systems and Policy Research, IBM Corporation
  • Alexander A. Shvartsman, Department Head and Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, and Director, Center for Voting Technology Research, UConn
  • Steven M. Southwick, Glenn H. Greenberg Professor of Psychiatry, PTSD, and Resilience, Yale School of Medicine; Medical Director, Clinical Neuroscience Division, VA National Center for PTSD
  • Mark (Mohammad) Tehranipoor, Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Director, Center for Hardware Assurance, Security, and Engineering; Director, Comcast Center of Excellence in Security Innovation, UConn
  • Vasilis Vasiliou, Professor and Chair, Department of Environmental Health Sciences, Yale School of Public Health
  • Julie B. Zimmerman, Professor of Green Engineering, School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, and School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Yale University

Election to the Academy is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence.


The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see