Connecticut Academy of Science & Engineering to Host 37th Annual Meeting and Dinner, May 31, 2012

Evening to Feature Keynote Address from Pratt & Whitney executive Paul Adams, Student Awards and CT Medal of Technology Presentation

What: 37th Annual Meeting of Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering

Where: University of Connecticut, Rome Ballroom, Storrs, CT

When: Thursday, May 31st, 2012, 6:00− 9:30 p.m.

Student Award Presentations: Students will display their projects during the 6:00-7:00 p.m. reception and will receive awards during dinner (includes winners of this year’s Connecticut Science Fair, Connecticut Science Challenge, Connecticut Junior Science and Humanities Symposium, and Connecticut Invention Convention).

Gerber Medals: The H. Joseph Gerber Medal of Excellence, established by the Academy and presented in partnership the Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology, will be awarded to the three top student winners.

New Academy Members: Thirty-nine newly elected members of the Academy will be introduced.

Special CASE Awards: CASE will award Honorary Membership to Glenn Cassis, Executive Director of the African-American Affairs Commission.

CT Medal of Technology: The 2012 Connecticut Medal of Technology will be presented to Dr. Yaakov Bar-Shalom, Marianne E. Klewin Professor in Engineering and Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, University of Connecticut. Catherine Smith, Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development will present the medal on behalf of Governor Dannel P. Malloy.

Keynote: Academy Member Paul R. Adams, Senior Vice President of Operations and Engineering at Pratt & Whitney will discuss the game changing PurePower® Geared Turbofan™ (GTF) engine.


The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see