CASE to Honor Connecticut’s Top Student Scientists

Rocky Hill, CT – Connecticut’s most talented young scientists and engineers will be honored by the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE) at its 45th Annual Meeting, to be held virtually on Tuesday, June 30, 2020. Students from this year’s Connecticut Science & Engineering Fair, Connecticut Junior Science and Humanities Symposium, and Connecticut Invention Convention received CASE awards and will be recognized as part of the meeting.

The H. Joseph Gerber Medal of Excellence and Award of Excellence, established by CASE, will be awarded to the top winners of the Connecticut Science & Engineering Fair, and the fair’s Urban School Challenge Program. The awards were created to recognize and honor H. Joseph Gerber’s (1924-1996) technical leadership in inventing, developing and commercializing manufacturing automation systems for a wide variety of industries, making those industries more efficient and cost-effective in a worldwide competitive environment.

This year’s keynote address will be delivered by CASE Member’s Nick Donofrio, IBM Fellow Emeritus and Executive Vice President, Innovation and Technology and Dave Ferrucci, Founder, CEO and Chief Scientist, Elemental Cognition and Director of Artificial Intelligence, Bridgewater Associates. Additionally, thirty-six newly elected members of the Academy will be recognized at the event and Sikorsky, a Lockheed Martin Company, also will be recognized as the recipient of the 2020 Connecticut Medal of Technology.

Student winners to be honored are:

The 2020 H. Joseph Gerber Medal of Excellence

Patricia Joseph, Engineering and Science University Magnet School, West Haven, CT

2020 Connecticut Science & Engineering Fair – 1st Place, Life Sciences-Senior Division; Project: Comparative Analysis of the Mitigation and Emissions Rates of Volatile-Organic Compounds in Various Ornamental Plants Using a Monitored Environment

Abigail Slanski, Amity Regional High School, Woodbridge, CT

2020 Connecticut Science & Engineering Fair – 1st Place, Physical Sciences-Senior Division; Project: Using an Automated Coating System to Optimize Nitric Oxide Release Patterns of Antibacterial Catheters


2020 H. Joseph Gerber Award of Excellence

Johnathan Bell and Devesh Kakar, Academy of Aerospace and Engineering, East Hartford, CT

2020 Connecticut Science & Engineering Fair – Urban School Challenge High School Winner; Project: Effective Augmentation of Urban Wind Energy Harvesters to Increase Electric Power Generation and Environmental Protections


2020 Connecticut Science & Engineering Fair – Middle School Winner, Urban School Challenge

Snigtha Mohanraj, Engineering and Science University Magnet School, West Haven, CT; Project: Effectiveness of the Organic Polymers for Removing Microplastic in an Aqueous Solution

2020 Connecticut Junior Science and Humanities Symposium

1ST Place: Rachel Brooks, Christian Heritage School, Trumbull, CT; Project: Increased Prevalence of Gastrointestinal, Cardiovascular, and Immunologic Conditions in Hospitalized Patients with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome: A Case-Control Study

2ND Place: Sam Florin, Greenwich High School, Greenwich, CT; Project: Decoding Algorithms for Correction of X-Z and Spatially Correlated Errors in Topological Quantum Computing

3RD Place: Kenneth Choi, Ridgefield High School, Ridgefield, CT; Project: Towards Privacy-Preserving Intelligence: Differential Privacy in Machine Learning

4TH Place: Ashley Granquist, William H. Hall High School, West Hartford, CT; Project: Multiwavelength Identification of Black Hole Candidates in M13

5TH Place: Shun Sakai, Greenwich High School, Greenwich, CT; Project: Portable, Simple Filtration of V. cholerae Infected Water using Electrified, Silver-SWCNT Nanostructures within a Sari-Cloth Textile


2020 Connecticut Invention Convention CASE Awardees

Alexander Baneat, Shelton Intermediate School

Sahana Bettegowda, Greens Farm Academy

James Crocker, East Granby Middle School

Ana-Lois Davis, East Windsor Middle School

Brianna Deierlein, Newtown Middle School

Emily Ely, Dual Language & Arts Magnet Middle School

Simon Karpinski, Lyme Old Lyme Middle School

Puma Marx, Newtown Middle School

Genesis Ortiz Jr., Interdistrict Discovery Magnet School

Ariana Pourkavoos, Talcott Mountain Academy of Science, Mathematics and Technology

Ronak Ramesh, CREC Academy of Aerospace and Engineering

Andy Sicuranza, Lyme Old Lyme Middle School

Jasper Southam, Talcott Mountain Academy of Science, Mathematics and Technology

Anthony Szarpa, West Rocks Middle School

Tasneem Zoghol, Madina Academy