Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects 23 New Members in 2016

Rocky Hill, CT —The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering announces the election of 23 of Connecticut’s leading experts in science, engineering and technology to membership in the Academy. The newly elected members will be introduced at the Academy’s 41st Annual Meeting and Dinner on May 24, 2016 at the University of New Haven’s Beckerman Recreation Center,

The 23 newly elected members are:

  • Paul T. Anastas, Teresa and H. John Heinz III Professor in the Practice of Chemistry for the Environment, School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, Yale University
  • Amy C. Anderson, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Department Head, Pharmaceutical Sciences, UConn
  • Isaac Cohen, Director, Systems Department, United Technologies Research Center
  • Nicholas M. Donofrio, Fellow Emeritus and Executive Vice President, Innovation and Technology, IBM (retired)
  • Clara Fang, Professor of Civil Engineering, College of Engineering, Technology, and Architecture, University of Hartford
  • Juan Fernandez de la Mora, Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, Yale University
  • Michael S. Francis, Senior Fellow and Chief, Advanced Programs, United Technologies Research Center
  • Murat Günel, Nixdorff-German Professor of Neurosurgery and Professor of Genetics and of Neuroscience; Co-Director, Yale Program on Neurogenetics; Director, Neurovascular Surgery, Yale School of Medicine and Yale-New Haven Hospital
  • Akiko Iwasaki, Professor of Immunobiology; Professor of Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology, Yale School of Medicine; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
  • Christine Jacobs-Wagner, William H. Fleming Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology and of Microbial Pathogenesis and Director of the Microbial Sciences Institute, Yale School of Medicine; Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute
  • Jaehong Kim, Professor, Chemical and Environmental Engineering, Yale University
  • Eric S. Levine, Professor of Neuroscience, UConn Health Cente
  • Paul J. Lombroso, Elizabeth Mear and House Jameson Professor, Deputy Chair for Research, Child Study Center, Yale School of Medicine
  • David A. McCormick, Dorys McConnell Duberg Professor of Neuroscience and Professor of Physiology and Vice Director, Kavli Institute for Neuroscience, Yale School of Medicine
  • Michael E. McCune, Design Manager – Fan Drive Gear Systems, Cold Section Engineering – Mechanical Systems, Pratt & Whitney
  • Diane McMahon-Pratt, Professor of Microbial Diseases, School of Public Health, Yale University
  • Robert O. Mendelsohn, Edwin Weyerhaeuser Davis Professor, School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, Yale University
  • Janice R. Naegele, Professor of Biology, Program in Neuroscience and Behavior, Wesleyan University
  • Karla M. Neugebauer, Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry and of Cell Biology, Yale University
  • Anna Marie Pyle, William Edward Gilbert Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology and Professor of Chemistry, Yale University
  • Holly E. Rushmeier, Professor of Computer Science, Yale University
  • Paul H. Singer, Chief Technology Officer, GE Industrial Solutions
  • Dennis L. Wright, Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, UConn

Election to the Academy is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence.


The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see