

NEWS RELEASE

Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering

CONTACT: Richard H. Strauss, Executive Director (860) 527-2161; <u>rstrauss@ctcase.org</u>

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 18, 2007

Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects Twenty-Six New Members in 2007

Hartford, CT – The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering announces the election of twenty-six of Connecticut's leading experts in science, engineering and technology to membership in the Academy. The newly elected members will be introduced at the Academy's 32nd Annual Meeting and Dinner on May 22, 2007, at the Hilton Mystic Hotel, Mystic, Connecticut.

The twenty-six newly elected members are:

Luke Achenie, PhD, Professor of Chemical, Materials & Biomolecular Engineering, University of Connecticut; Judith Auslander, PhD, Senior Fellow & Member of The Technical Ladder, Pitney Bowes; Rajeev Bansal, PhD, Professor and Associate Head of Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of Connecticut; Gene Banucci, PhD, Founder & Chairman of the Board, ATMI, Inc.; Kim Bottomly, PhD, Professor of Immunobiology & Deputy Provost for Science, Technology, and Faculty Development, Yale University School of Medicine; Ann Bucklin, PhD, Head, Department of Marine Sciences & Director of the Marine Sciences and Technology Center, University of Connecticut; Ernesto Canalis, MD, Director of Research, St. Francis Hospital & Professor of Medicine and Orthopedic Surgery, School of Medicine, University of Connecticut; Sten Caspersson, Fellow Engineer; Project Manager, High Temperature Nuclear Power Reactors, Westinghouse Electric Company; Paul Cleary, PhD, C-E A. Winslow Professor and Chair of Epidemiology and Public Health, Chair, Department & Dean, Yale University School of Public Health; Hans Dam, PhD, Professor, Department of Marine Sciences, University of Connecticut; Steven Demurjian, PhD, Professor and Associate Department Head, Department of Computer Science & Engineering, University of Connecticut; Menachem Elimelech, PhD, Roberto C. Goizueta Professor of Environmental & Chemical Engineering, and Chairman, Department of Chemical Engineering & Director of The Environmental Engineering Program, Yale University; Steven Girvin, PhD, Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics & Applied Physics, Yale University; Laura Grabel, PhD, Fisk Professor of Natural Sciences, Wesleyan University; Michael Hartnett, PhD, President & CEO, Roller Bearing Company of America; Eric Jordan, PhD, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, University of Connecticut; Karl Kissa, PhD, Senior Optical Engineer, JDSU Corporation; Charles Kling, PhD, Consulting Engineer, Westinghouse Electric Company; Marc Lalande, PhD, Chair, Department Of Genetics & Developmental Biology; Associate Dean for Research Planning and Coordination, University of Connecticut Health Center, School of Medicine; Haifan Lin, PhD, Professor of Cell Biology and Director, Yale Stem Cell Program, Yale University School of Medicine; Nejat Olgac, PhD, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, University of Connecticut; Sara Rockwell, PhD, Professor, Departments of Therapeutic Radiology and Pharmacology, and Director, Office of Scientific Affairs, Yale University School of Medicine; David Rowe, MD, Director, Center For Regenerative & Skeletal Biology, and Professor, Department of Oral Rehabilitation, Biomaterials & Skeletal Development, School of Dental Medicine, and Professor, Department of Genetics and Developmental Biology, School of Medicine, University of Connecticut Health Center; George Wisner, President, Wisner Associates; Megan Urry, PhD, Israel Munson Professor of Physics & Astronomy, and Chairperson, Department of Physics, Yale University; Quing Zhu, PhD, Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering, University of Connecticut

- more -

Election to the Academy is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence. By statute, the Academy's membership is limited to 250 individuals.

The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the Connecticut General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see <u>www.ctcase.org</u>.

###