++CONTACT:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Richard H. Strauss, Executive Director (860) 571-7135; rstrauss@ctcase.org

February 21, 2018

Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects 24 New Members in 2018

Rocky Hill, CT — The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering announces the election of 24 of Connecticut's leading experts in science, engineering and technology to membership in the Academy. The newly elected members will be introduced at the Academy's 43rd Annual Meeting and Dinner on May 24, 2018 at the Radisson Hotel - Cromwell.

The 24 newly elected members are:

- Amy F. T. Arnsten, Professor of Neuroscience and of Psychology, Yale School of Medicine, and Member, Kavli Institute of Neuroscience at Yale
- Arindam Bose, Founder and Sole-Organizer, AbiologicsB, LLC
- Ingrid Burke, Carl W, Knobloch, Jr. Dean and Professor of Ecosystem Ecology, School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, Yale University
- Gordon Carmichael, Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences, UConn Health
- **Zaffir A. Chaudhry**, Technical Fellow, United Technologies Research Center
- Richard Christenson, Professor, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, School of Engineering, UConn
- Robert H. Crabtree, Conkey P. Whitehead Professor of Chemistry, Yale University
- Mark R. Gurvich, Technical Fellow, United Technologies Research Center
- Sharon Hammes-Schiffer, John Gamble Kirkwood Professor of Chemistry, Yale University
- Horea T. Ilies, Department Head, Mechanical Engineering and Professor of Mechanical Engineering and of Computer Science, School of Engineering, UConn
- **Sridhar V. Kanuri**, Vice President, Global Head of Research and Engineering, Doosan Fuel Cells
- Anthony J. Koleske, Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry and Neurobiology, Yale School of Medicine
- Gary M. Kupfer, Professor of Pediatrics, Yale School of Medicine and Chief, Hematology-Oncology, Yale Cancer Center
- Yu Lei, Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, School of Engineering, UConn
- Laurent D. Michel, Professor, Computer Science & Engineering, and Co-Director, Voting Technology Research Center, School of Engineering, UConn

Cont. next page

- Akiko Nishiyama, Professor, Physiology and Neurobiology, UConn
- Nicholas Read, Henry Ford II Professor of Physics and Professor of Applied Physics and Mathematics, Yale University
- **Robert N. Renz, Jr., Vice President, Engineering, Kaman Precision Products**
- Peter E. Schiffer, Vice-Provost for Research, Office of the Provost; and Professor in Applied Physics, Yale University
- Karen C. Seto, Senior Associate Dean of Research, Frederick C. Hixon Professor of Geography and Urbanization Science, and Director of Doctoral Studies, School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, Yale University
- Ranjan Srivastava, Professor and Department Head, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, School of Engineering, UConn
- Venkat Vedula, Senior Director, Materials Engineering, UTC Aerospace Systems
- Sten H. Vermund, Dean, and Anna M.R. Lauder Professor of Public Health, Yale School of Public Health, and Professor of Pediatrics, Yale School of Medicine
- **Bing Wang**, Professor, Computer Science & Engineering, School of Engineering, UConn

Election to the Academy is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence. The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the Connecticut General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well-being. For more information about the Academy, please visit www.ctcase.org.

###