

NEWS RELEASE

Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering

CONTACT: Richard H. Strauss, Executive Director (860) 571-7135; <u>rstrauss@ctcase.org</u> FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 18, 2011

Academy To Honor Connecticut's Top Student Scientists Young Scientists and Engineers Take Spotlight at Annual Awards Dinner

Rocky Hill, CT — Connecticut's most talented young scientists and engineers will be honored by the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering at its 36th Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner on May 25, 2011 at the Stepping Stones Museum for Children in Norwalk, CT. Winners of this year's Connecticut Science Fair, Connecticut Science Challenge, Connecticut Junior Science and Humanities Symposium, and Connecticut Invention Convention will be recognized during the evening ceremonies.

The H. Joseph Gerber Medal of Excellence, established by the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering and presented in partnership with the Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology, will be awarded to the two first place winners of the Connecticut Science Fair and the first place winner of the Connecticut Science Challenge. The medal was created to recognize and honor H. Joseph Gerber's (1924-1996) technical leadership in inventing, developing and commercializing manufacturing automation systems for a wide variety of industries, making those industries more efficient and cost-effective in a worldwide competitive environment.

Academy member Regis A. Matzie will give the keynote address. Matzie is a nuclear engineer, retired U.S. Navy captain and former chief technology officer for Westinghouse Electric Company LLC.

Student winners to be honored include:

The H. Joseph Gerber Medal of Excellence:

Swathi Krishnan, Rye Country Day School, Rye, NY

2011 Connecticut Science Fair — 1st Place, Life Sciences-Senior Division Project: *Development and Characterization of a Novel Listeria-Caspase-3 DNA Vaccine to Eradicate Metastatic Breast Cancer*

Ryota Ishizuka, Greenwich High School, Greenwich, CT

2011 Connecticut Science Fair — 1st Place, Physical Sciences-Senior Division Project: *Optimization of a Microbial Fuel Cell Structure to Drive a Bioelectrochemically-Assisted Wastewater Treatment Reactor*

Marina Kaneko, Greenwich High School, Greenwich, CT

2011 Connecticut Science Challenge — 1st Place Project: *Spectroscopic Modeling of Ergothioneine as a UV Dermal Protectant*

Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering

2011 Connecticut Science Challenge

1st Place — See H. Joseph Gerber Medal of Excellence award winner

2nd Place: Joshua M. Greenberg, Staples High School, Westport, CT

Project: An Approach to Treating Sensorineural Hearing Loss through the Identification and Characterization of Mechanosensory Hair Cell Progenitors in the Zebrafish Lateral Line

Honorable Mention: Rachel A. Myers, Staples High School, Westport, CT

Project: Computational Investigation of Astrophysical NuclearReaction Rate Dominance

2011 Connecticut Junior Science and Humanities Symposium

1st **Place: Yiyuan Hu, Hamden High School, Hamden, CT** Project: *Role of MyD88 in DNA Damage Response*

2nd Place: Swathi Krishnan, Rye Country Day School, Rye, NY

Project: Development and Characterization of a Novel Listeria-Caspase-3 DNA Vaccine to Eradicate Metastatic Breast Cancer

3rd Place: Bonnie Hawkins, Hamden High School, Hamden, CT

Project: Protein Engineering of NPP4 into NPP2

4th Place: John Solder, Staples High School, Westport, CT

Project: KCNQ Channels in Prefrontal Pyramidal Neurons: A Novel Target for Cognitive Enhancement

5th Place: Andrew Mauboussin, Darien High School, Darien, CT

Project: Differentiating Skill and Luck in Financial Markets with Streaks

2011 Connecticut Invention Convention

Avon, CT – Talcott Mountain Academy: Patrick Kage
Bridgeport, CT – St. Ann School: Liliana Delmonico, Jake Hopkins and Heidi Martinez
East Hartford, CT – Two Rivers Magnet Middle School: Tacy Cresson and Zoe Diamond
Moodus, CT – Nathan Hale-Ray Middle School: Bethany Powell
Newtown, CT – Newtown Middle School: Shaina Errico
North Franklin, CT – Franklin Elementary School: Saige Laquitara
Torrington, CT – Torrington Middle School: Yeats Bramble, Jessica Marie Gray, Matthew R. Heath, Halifax Nicolson, Stephen Torlai, and Olivia Vollaro

Thirty-five newly elected members of the Academy will also be recognized during the evening.

The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering was chartered by the General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well being. For more information about the Academy, please see <u>www.ctcase.org</u>.

###